How I Saved The World In A Week by Polly Ho-Yen

Book Review #540

Title: How I Saved The World In A Week

Author: Polly Ho-Yen

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Genre: Middle Grade

Format: ARC, Paperback

Source: Pansing

Publication Date: July, 2021

Pages: 380

A brilliantly imagined new 8+ adventure about resilience, family and hope. From the bestselling and Waterstones Children’s Book Prize shortlisted author of BOY IN THE TOWER. Perfect for fans of Ross Welford, Lisa Thompson and Onjali Rauf.

Rule number one: Always be prepared . . .

Billy’s mum isn’t like other mums. All she wants is to teach him the Rules of Survival – how to make fire, build shelter and find food. She likes to test Billy on the rules until one day she goes too far, and Billy is sent to live with a dad he barely knows.

Then the world changes forever as people begin to be infected with a mysterious virus that turns their skin grey. As chaos breaks out, Billy has to flee the city. Suddenly he realises that this is what his mum was preparing him for – not just to save his family, but to save the whole world. 

How I Saved The World In A Week by Polly Ho-Yen is a story about a boy’s adventure to save his life, mother and believe it or not the rest of the world. This book features a step-by-step guide to survival with a few illustrations that accompany but even though the premise is interesting, it just didn’t interest me enough.

I find this book draggy and a bit over the place. There are just way too many details for my liking and it didn’t seem to be too realistic to me. But there are a few details that hit home as it seems to be inspired by what’s happening right now in the real world.

All in all, this may be the type of book for someone else out there but it isn’t for me unfortunately. I really tried to make myself to like it but I truly cannot force myself. But if it interests you enough to pick it up, I say go for it.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s