Blue Window by Adina Rishe Gewirtz

Book Review #534

Title: Blue Window

Author: Adina Rishe Gewirtz

Publisher: Candlewick Press

Genres: Middle Grade, Fantasy

Format: Paperback

Publication Date: March 9, 2021

Pages: 560

My rating: 2 STARS

Five siblings fall through time and space into a strange, unkind world — their arrival mysteriously foretold — and land in the center of an epic civil struggle in a country where many citizens have given themselves over to their primal fears and animal passions at the urging of a power-hungry demagogue.

When siblings Susan, Max, Nell, Kate, and Jean tumble one by one through a glowing cobalt window, they find themselves outside their cozy home — and in a completely unfamiliar world where everything looks wrong and nothing makes sense. Soon, an ancient prophecy leads them into battle with mysterious forces that threaten to break the siblings apart even as they try desperately to remain united and find their way home. Thirteen-year-old twins Max and Susan and their younger siblings take turns narrating the events of their story in unique perspectives as each of the children tries to comprehend their stunning predicament — and their extraordinary new powers — in his or her own way. From acclaimed author Adina Rishe Gewirtz comes a riveting novel in the vein of C. S. Lewis and E. Nesbit, full of nuanced questions about morality, family, and the meaning of home.

Blue Window is a story about siblings who went on a magical adventure full of mysterious happenstances and discovering about their newfound powers. Its like a combination of Narnia and Coraline. It has all the magical and fantasy element with a darker take.

Truth be told, I would never pick up this book and would not even be interested to pick it up. The cover definitely could be better. The plot doesn’t seem to be that special and seems like I’ve seen and read before. It is also so unnecessarily thick and I was just so looking forward for it to end.

I know a lot of people actually enjoyed this book so as always, you should try to read yourself because who knows it might just be your cup of tea. But unfortunately, this book isn’t for me and even before I actually picked it up, I could already feel like I wouldn’t enjoy it as much and I was right after all.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s