Rather Be (A Songbird Novel #10) by Melissa Pearl

Book Review #120

Title: Rather Be

Author: Melissa Pearl

Publication: Createspace

Genre: NA, Romance

Format: e-ARC

Release Date: May 8, 2017




Love can last a lifetime…

Best buds in high school, Charlotte (Charlie) Watson and Nixon Holloway were inseparable … until the summer after graduation, when things in their relationship shifted and it all fell apart.

Four years later, their paths cross at a snowbound New York airport, and it doesn’t take long for them to realize that time and distance has done nothing to extinguish the flame between them. But life has moved on. Nixon has a girlfriend, and Charlie must face up to the lasting consequences of what she let happen that dreadful summer.

In a secret attempt to make amends, Charlie suggests a spontaneous road trip from New York to LA. As usual, Nixon can’t resist her persuasive charm and so they hit the road together. But as the duo make their way across the country, they are both forced to face some honest truths about themselves, their present lives, and all of the unfulfilled dreams they’ve let slip by.

Each of them can see the course their lives are taking … but is there someplace else they’d rather be? And will they have the courage to fight for the person they would rather be with?

I have to be honest and say that I was slightly disappointed by the last story in the Songbird Novel – the story of Charlie and Nixon making way for another to fit in their love in this big and scary world. I guess I just had way far fetched expectations and it didn’t quite reach there although it comes very close to the border. 

I like how vibrant, colourful and wild Charlie is and how she’s so headstrong to live her own life. I feel like I’ve seen this kind of plot way too many times. It starts with the parents of the boy interscepting with their son’s life, threatening and claiming that they’re only doing it to protect their son. Even though I can understand a bit why they’re doing it, I’d still refuse to understand it because everyone carves their own life and their own plans. Just as Nixon is supposed to do. 

Being travellers for your daily job is a dream come true for me and I can definitely relate this aspect with both of them. Doing what they love, pursuing it and actually living it – I just can imagine it. It’s beautiful. 

As much as the author can’t wait to move on from this beautiful set of stories, I’m in it with her too. I really look forward to discovering and reading more of her works as I think I’ll always be. 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

