The Boy Who Lost His Sight by Bella Zamri

Book Review #104

Title: The Boy Who Lost His Sight

Author: Bella Zamri

Publication: Terfaktab Vine 

Format: Paperback

Release Date: September 2016

Pages: 225 pages


Away from Lenoir, Ellie Burke found a place to breathe again. A brighter home surrounded with her loved ones. A-once-in-a-lifetime chance to change her life.

Everything seemed perfect enough – until she met Riley Flynn.

A mysterious young boy with a devilish smile, silently living with a traumatic secret buried away from others. In the midst of rain, uncertainty and burning desire – Ellie Burke finally found her salvation.

But when there is hope, there is always a risk for a major heartbreak. 

I was so close to putting this book down and mark it as ‘did not finish’. Why? Because there are so many grammatical errors and what I assume words missing in sentences. Almost in every chapter, there are these errors and it makes me sad, truly. Mistakes like these should not even be possible as that is where the editors work comes in. For a minute, I had high hopes on a local publisher, but was I wrong. 

This book was a total disappointment to me. The main reason I read this book was because of the hype and the fact that I felt a bit proud that one of my people has managed to write well enough to be loved and be given attention by a lot of people on Wattpad. If you didn’t know yet, the author has published this book on Wattpad and has over 16 million reads. Yes, the number baffles me to this day. 

I find the story predictable and the characters are the typical ones you find in a YA/Teen Fiction book. We have the moody main boy, the overly cheerful girl and another nice boy who also happens to like the girl. You think that’s already cliche? Read the book yourself.  

Honestly, my review is not in any way to bash about a book, the author and the publisher. I want them to be aware of the mistakes and I surely hope that they can change. Or else I will truly lost hope in a local publisher’s works in the English language. 

All my opinions are my own and in no way heading towards hate and negativity. After all, you must act first in order to see a change you want to see in the world. But in this case, Malaysia’s publishing system. 

5 thoughts on “The Boy Who Lost His Sight by Bella Zamri

    1. Here are a few of them as you have requested.

      -“I haven’t say thank you…”
      -Riley was that one of a kind of a puzzle
      -Every time I let my eyes wandered off to stare at him
      -Things might had been different if I didn’t talked to him that day
      -childish Harry Potter’s spells
      -heal more slowly than a cut on skin

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I enjoyed reading your review. I always feel bad writing bad reviews, but unless the reviewer is giving abusive hate, I think it’s okay to be honest. The mistakes you pointed out in the comments already annoyed me, never mind reading the whole book. If your going to publish something, have a read over it before you do, right?

    Like

Leave a Reply

