It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

Book Review #93

Title: It Ends With Us

Author: Colleen Hoover

Publication: Atria Books

Format: Paperback 

Release Date: August 2, 2016

Pages: 367 pages

My rating: 4/5

SOMETIMES THE ONE WHO LOVES YOU IS THE ONE WHO HURTS YOU THE MOST

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up – she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, and maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily, but Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan – her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

With this bold and deeply personal novel, Colleen Hoover delivers a heart-wrenching story that breaks exciting new ground for her as a writer. It Ends With Us is an unforgettable tale of love that comes at the ultimate price.

This book contains graphic scenes and very sensitive subject matter. 

Colleen Hoover has written this book to deliver an important message that lives in our society today. She has definitely successfully delivered the message across readers who have read it. Me, included. 

This book has definitely made me see a new light and path towards abuse and I will never question it again. I will never question why someone wouldn’t and refuse to leave her husband. I will never question anything of the matter ever again. 

I have to regretfully say that this book did not really capture my attention and interest as much as I have expected it to be. I am quite disappointed of myself, to be honest. I did not enjoy this book as much. And I did not love it as much as I hold Colleen Hoover’s other great works close to my heart. 

I feel that the Author’s Notes has made more impact on me than the whole story. I am not trying to downgrade the story – I am merely saying that the author is very brave and bold to write a matter that relates to her life in the past that is both saddening and disappointing in this modern day and age.

I have to say that Ryle has definitely made me fell in love with his charming characteristics in the first few chapters but as soon as he first hit Lily, I knew instantly that there is something very suspicious about him. I know that what has happened to him in the past will forever scar and haunt him. I admire his nobility and regret but it just doesn’t feel right. 

Lily is brave and bold in every aspect. I truly admire her for thinking ahead on what is the best future for everyone instead of acting selfishly for her own benefit. She is someone who really cares about others around her. 

Atlas, I instantly have a good feeling about him. Life treated him so badly when he was only a teenager. A teenager should never have to experience what he had to experience. His own mother diswoned him just because she remarried. I feel like kicking his mother just to knock her out of her senses. 

Alyssa is the best friend any girl could ask and wish for. Even though Lily wanted to leave her husband, she encourages her by not acting all biased towards Ryle just because he is her brother. 

This book is perfect for you if you are looking for a heart-shattering book that will also blow your mind in the process. 

Leave a Reply

