Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Book Review #83

Title: Everything, Everything 

Author: Nicola Yoon

Publication: Delacorte Books for Young Readers

Format: Paperback

Release Date: September 1, 2015

Pages: 310 pages

My rating: 5/5

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster. 

I devoured this book just like Jennifer Niven has quoted the book but not in one sitting. 

I love the interesting plotline about the main character in the story, Madeline who is suffering from SCID since it is a very rare disease and it is not a common disease that everyone knows about (myself included). Hence, interesting. By reading this book, we are exposed to the disease and will gain more information of the disease. 

I understand the pain and what Madeline is suffering through. I can’t even stay at home for a couple of days without feeling the need to go out but imagine, 18 years. She could have at least gone somewhere that is nearer to her home but no, she had to go on all-out to Hawaii and with the boy next door-the boy she claims to fall in love with! The girl seriously has guts. 

At least, the guy is not bad, not bad at all. Olly worries about her and fights for them when Madeline feels overwhelmed with his generosity. The list can go on and on about how great he is. You will need to read the book to know the whole story. 

All in all, I love this story! It is a light read with a serious topic that other people should be more exposed to, in my opinion anyway.  

Leave a Reply

