Encender (The Enertia Trials #2) by J. Kowallis

Book Review #71

Title: Encender

Author: J. Kowallis

Publication: Ingram Spark

Format: Paperback

Release Date: February 29, 2016

Pages: 440 pages  

‘Devastating and fearless, J. Kowallis has created a dystopian world unlike any other.’ E. J. MELLOW, AUTHOR OF THE ACCLAIMED DREAMLAND SERIES. 

‘I never wanted to put it down.’ THE STUBBY PENCIL’S LIBRARY 

My rating: 5/5

They say you feel cold when you die. 

The people I’ve killed would beg to differ. 

For twenty-something Ransley, the adopted daughter of famed street fighter Estevan Benitez, fighting is all she knows. One hidden detail separates her from the endless string of her pathetic opponents: she can craft and influence heat and fire. 

When she’s pitted against the strongest fighters at the infamous Argolla, Ransley faces something she never expected:
A man like her. 

Roydon can duplicate himself. When the two collide in the ring, a chain of deals turns Roydon over to Public Four and he’s taken away to undergo the disturbing process of the Nexis. What it is, or what it does, no one outside of The Public knows. 

Driven by guilt and a desire to release the only person she’s ever met who’s like her, Ransley isn’t about to leave him for dead—not when he might hold the answers to her missing past. Now she must trust a pair of strangers: a former military man out to collapse the system, and a woman whose premonitions could tear them all apart. 

This series just keeps on getting better and better. I seriously cannot imagine and predict what will happen next in the third book but, what I do know is that it will definitely blow my mind and it might also break my heart into pieces. 

I love the new addition of the characters – Ransley, Roydon and Estevan. I really find Ransley and Roydon’ character intriguing! And their abilities are extremely awesome respectively. Estevan in my opinion is just a minor character in this story but his character really potrays a father who would do anything for Ransley in order to survive the harsh life of the post apocalyptic and also his deep love and compassion towards Ransley. 

At first, I thought that this will be a whole different story with a whole different characters and background. But nope! The author, J. Kowallis adds them into the whole story (with Nate and Reggie) before telling the readers their backstory. And I have to say, that she really catches the readers whole attention with her phenomenonal storyline and vibrant characters, of course.  

Did anyone not notice that Ransley’s paternal parent is Martin Lobb?!? Seriously? If I were her, I would be disgusted and disappointed. Or the fact that Roydon and Reggie are siblings? Maybe they didn’t have time to react because they were too distracted knocking the breath out of one another. Nice guys! 

Still so happy that Nate is in the story but the two main guys – Nate and Roydon, in the story just confuses my mind because now, I can’t decide who I’m rooting for! 

What was that ending? I was so heartbroken when I read it!! Nate and Reggie, I feel the pain and despair but that doesn’t mean that Nate has to go away alone. They should all go together. Nate get your shits together because what can you achieve by going alone?

This series is hands down, one of the best series out there! Everyone should seriously go and read it because it is definitely worth all your time and attention! 

Highly highly highly recommended!

Leave a Reply

